Close this search box.
Home » Scholarships » Nominations Open: TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award 2024 for Female Scientists

Nominations Open: TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award 2024 for Female Scientists

The prestigious TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award is back in 2024, celebrating the remarkable contributions of female scientists to sustainability and environmental preservation. Established in honor of TWAS Fellow Samira Omar, this annual award recognizes outstanding achievements in various thematic areas crucial for global sustainability.

About the Award

This esteemed award, generously endowed with a $4,000 cash prize by Professor Samira Omar, aims to spotlight the pivotal role played by scientists, particularly women, from Least Developed Countries (LDCs) in addressing pressing environmental challenges.

Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for the 2024 award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Nationality: The nominee must be a woman scientist from a Least Developing Country (LDC).
  • Residency: She should have been living and working in an LDC for the last two years preceding her nomination.
  • Scientific Achievements: The nominee should have made significant contributions to any of the following thematic areas:
    • Clean and renewable energy
    • Green chemistry
    • Sustainable agriculture and agrobiodiversity
    • Plastic degradation, pollution, and microplastics
    • Water purification and sanitation
    • Climate change mitigation and adaptation
    • Transportation technologies for smart cities
    • Waste management
    • Biodiversity conservation
    • Ecological economics and planetary health

Nomination Process

Nominations for the 2024 TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award can only be submitted online through the designated platform. To initiate a nomination, simply click on the “NEW NOMINATION” button on the official webpage.

It is vital to ensure that all necessary information is provided and that the nomination adheres to the specified character limits. Additionally, nominees must authorize the processing of their personal data as per the regulations outlined in Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003.

Submission Deadline

While the deadline for nominations is 10 May 2024, early submission is strongly encouraged to facilitate prompt processing.

Required Documentation

A complete nomination should include the following materials:

  • Contact details of the nominator
  • Contact details and general information of the nominee
  • Authorization from the nominee for the processing of personal data
  • A suggested citation highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements
  • A comprehensive supporting statement elucidating the significance of the nominee’s work
  • Details of any international engagements by the nominee in the past two years
  • Information regarding the nominee’s PhD, memberships, awards, and publications
  • The nominee’s brief CV and list of publications
  • The nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and associated citations

For Further Inquiries

For detailed information regarding the nomination process and eligibility criteria, visit the Official Webpage of the TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award.

By recognizing and honoring the exemplary contributions of female scientists, the TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award continues to inspire and drive progress towards a more sustainable future. Apply now or nominate a deserving scientist to be part of this impactful initiative.

Also check Wales & Africa Grant Scheme 2025: Funding for Wales-Africa Projects

About US

Opportunity Desk Africa is an online platform that connects students and professionals to scholarship and career opportunities. Follow us to stay in touch with the latest opportunities

Recent Posts

Follow Us

Weekly Tutorial